742 St. Cloud Proud!

Something Brand New

image

 

the Mississippi

This is Alexandra, a college student from Changchun Normal University.  I’m currently co-teaching in a Chinese immersion program at Medison Elementary School. It has been almost two months   since I came to America. It is an unknown challenge as well as a precious opportunity.

我是郎。一名来自长春师范大学的学生。我现在在美国明尼苏达州圣克劳德市的麦迪逊小学当一名助教。我来美国已经两个月,这其中充满着未知的挑战同时也是宝贵的经历。

There are eight of us live and work together. In the first two weeks, we went to Confucius Institute located at St. Cloud State University(SCSU), Apollo High School, and Medison Elementary School for training. The training content mostly including ways to deal with different students, kids with special needs, cultural difference and so forth. Well, I’ve gratually got to know the difference of education concept between China and America. In the meantime, during training, I got to konw local teachers and mingled with them, that’s one of the things here I’m really excited about.

我们一行有八个人,我们共同生活和工作。在我们来美国的前两周我们去了圣克劳德州立大学的孔子学院,阿波罗高中以及麦迪逊小学进行岗前培训。培训的内容主要包括针对不同的孩子的教育方法,特殊儿童以及文化差异等等。从培训中我了解到了中美教育理念的差异。在培训过程中我认识了一些美国教师。这是我在美国为之兴奋的事情之一。img_0786

Fall of America

After two weeks of training, we started to officially go to work. In the first    ten days each of us took turns to work in different grades, from kindergaden to fifth grade. On my first day to work I was nervous, after all, I’ve never got to know American kids. After a long break, kids didn’t adjust themselves to school life, some of them were really difficult to deal with.Luckly,  kids are awesome, day one is a little bit tough but worth it. During the days we took turns, teachers would share their experience with us, from work to life. And I also learned a lot from those kids need special help. They are brilliant and worth the effort.

两周的培训结束后,我们正式地成为一名助教。开始的十天里,我们八个人每天轮流在幼儿园到五年级工作。上班的第一天我很紧张,毕竟这是我第一次接触美国学生。在漫长的暑假后,孩子们没有很好的调整到学校生活中,一些孩子情况更为严重,他们很难应付。幸运的是,孩子们很棒,上班的第一天有困难但很值得。在我们轮流的这些天里,老师们会与我们分享教学经验,我也从特殊儿童身上学到了很多,他们很优秀也值得我们共同努力。

 

img_0394

At a concert

After ten days, things are finally settled. I am in fourth grade, working with Ms ting, an amazing teacher, is something I am really excited about. She has her own ways in class management. Oh, here I would like to share something, which is I teached a class on my own, it was a Chinese class, I teached the kids grammar, the difference and the usage between “dē”,”dì”,”dé”. When I first got the assignment, I was at loss, luckly, I pulled it together, I can’t say it was a success, but it went well, kids were able to listen to teacher’s order, and they did a great job. Sometimes I would help them with math and other subjects. And I can really feel like I am starting to bond with the students.

十天后,我们最终确定了自己在哪个年级工作。我在四年级与郑老师一起工作。她是一个很优秀的老师,我很高兴能与她共事。她在课堂管理方面有自己的妙招。有一件事值得一提,我自己给班里的同学上了一节课,这是一节中文语法课,主要讲“的”、“地”、“得”的区别和用法。当我第一次接到任务时,我不知所措,但我还是做到了,这不能算成功,但却很顺利。孩子们能够听老师的话他们做的也很好。有时我会帮助他们的作业。我开始觉得我和这些孩子们建立了信任。

One time I have group assignment, I told a story called Journey to the West, the kids love the story and listened carefully, they are excited about the main character “Monkey King”, I managed to get the students interested about the story, and I am really happy it worked out.

又一次我有一个小组活动,我给孩子们讲了西游记的故事,孩子们很喜欢这个故事,他们听得也很仔细,像我一样他们也很喜欢孙悟空这个角色。我成功让孩子对这个故事感兴趣。

Sometimes in class I would see kids who wouldn’t even listen and run around, when this happens, I would talk to the student and give them two choices and ask them you can choose to do this or that and then tell them the conciquence. Or I would ask the student to be calm, when they are ready, they will join the class.

在课堂上我会遇到不听话甚至还在教室乱跑的学生,这时,我会告诉学生你有两个选择,并把后果告诉他们。或者我会让孩子自己先冷静,当他准备好时,他便会自己上课。

That’s something about my work, in life, eight of us get along well, and we met a lot of friendly Americans, people here are really nice, we would smile at each other even if we are strangers. We get to taste American food and feel the culture, the difference between China and America worth exploring. I really want to thank those people really helped us. I appreciated.

今天先暂时写到这儿吧。在生活中我们八个人相处得很好,我们会遇到很多友好的美国人,即使是陌生人见面也会打招呼。我们品尝了美国食物,感受到了当地文化及文化差异。我很感激在生活中帮助过我们的人。

I am a 742 St.Cloud Chinese Proud!

我是742中国骄傲!

p.s I will keep posting my work life. To be continued.

未完待续……
 

 

发表评论

